Four Things You Should Know About The Greater Blue Mountains

Four Things You Should Know About The Greater Blue MountainsBlue_Mountains,_Australia

People go to Australia for a variety of reasons.  Some want to visit the far reaches of the Outback to experience being in one of the harshest climates on earth, and others want to visit Sydney and other major cities on the continent.  There are a lot of things to see on one of the world’s most unique continents, but if you’re coming to Australia there’s one sight that you have to see.  When people think of beautiful and powerful things to see in Australia, the Blue Mountains probably aren’t the first thing that comes to mind, but this site has a special place in Australia’s, and Earth’s history.

The Greater Blue Mountains Area is An UNESCO World Heritage Area

The Greater Blue Mountains Area was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Area in November 2000.  It was the fourth area in New South Wales to make the list.  The entire area was listed, including Kanangra-Boyd, Wollemi, Gardens of Stone, Yengo, Nattai and Thirlmere Lakes National Parks, plus the Jenolan Caves Karst Conservation Reserve.  The area was chosen because it’s home to a perfect example of unique Australian habitat.  The site contains a wide and balanced representation

blue2of eucalypt habitats from wet and dry sclerophyll, mallee heathlands, as well as localized swamps, wetlands, and grassland.  The area is full of 13% of the entire plant species that make up the family eucalypt, 114 endemic species of plants and animals, and 120 total rare plants and animals on the continent.The area is a perfect example of Australia’s unique geological history

There is a reason why Australia seems to have such unique plants and animals in comparison to life on other continents.  Australia’s geographic isolation has led to a unique kind of biodiversity on the continent. More than 80% of the country’s flowering plants, mammals, reptiles, and frogs can only be found within Australia. Additionally, most of its freshwater fish and almost half of its birds are unique to the area.  The Greater Blue Mountains Area is almost made up entirely of temperate eucalypt forest, a kind of ecosystem that’s unique to the Australasia area.  Its unique ecosystem is one of the main reasons why UNESCO preserved it as a World Heritage Area.

There area is home to native Australians

1-three-sisters-blue-mountains-australia-kathy-dowlingThere are two traditional aboriginal groups in the Blue Mountains.  The Gundungurra people occupy the Upper Mountains, and the Megalong and Burragorang Valleys. It includes videos, arts and offers indigenous tours of the area. The Dharug people occupy the lower Mountains and Cumberland Plain areas.  The Gundungurra Tribal Council Aboriginal Corporation website offers information about local aboriginal culture and history which provides everything you need to know about local aboriginal groups.

There are other historic places in the area

There are plenty of Blue Mountains day tours you can take to learn about the area, but this historic area has more to offer visitors than nature.  Leuralla is a historic house in Leura, a suburb in the City of Blue Mountains, and it’s now the home of the Leuralla Toy & Railway Museum.  The home was built by a wealthy yachtsman and big game fisherman in the 1870s, and has passed to several different owners since it was built.  The house hosted Queen Elizabeth the II and the Duke of Edinburgh during their historic 1954 Royal Visit.


About the author:
Tonie Bevel is a travel agent who enjoys exploring various countries and cultures.

Leave a Comment